Senate of the Republic (Italy)

in Roma, Italy

Category: Attraction

25 views 0 shares 0 comments

Bookmarkset bookmark!
Created/changed by: System

Address details

Palazzo Madama, 00186 Roma, Italy
Print route »


N41° 53' 57.09" E12° 28' 27.4"   (41.899191666667, 12.474277777778)
Start navigation »

Phone & WWW

Business hours


The Senate of the Republic (Italian: Senato della Repubblica) is a house of the bicameral Italian Parliament (the other being the Chamber of Deputies). The two houses together form a perfect bicameral system, meaning they perform identical functions, but do so separately. Pursuant to Articles 57, 58, and 59 of the Italian Constitution, the Senate has a variable number of members, of which 309 are elected from Italian constituencies, 6 from Italian citizens living abroad, and a small number (currently 5) are senators for life (senatori a vita), either appointed or ex officio. It was established in its current form on 8 May 1948, but previously existed during the Kingdom of Italy as Senato del Regno (Senate of the Kingdom), itself a continuation of the Senato Subalpino (Subalpine Senate) of Sardinia established on 8 May 1848. Members of the Senate are styled Senator or The Honourable Senator (Italian: Onorevole Senatore) and they meet at Palazzo Madama, Rome.


Random Images

Contact details

Senate of the Republic (Italy)

Address: Palazzo Madama, 00186 Roma, Italy