Division of Sydney

in Redfern, Australia

Category: Attraction

5 views 0 shares 0 comments

Bookmarkset bookmark!
Created/changed by: System

Address details

62 Cope St, Redfern NSW 2016, Australia
Print route »


S33° 53' 42" E151° 11' 60"   (-33.895, 151.2)
Start navigation »

Phone & WWW

Business hours


The Division of Sydney is an Australian electoral division in the state of New South Wales. The division draws its name from Sydney, the most populous city in Australia, which itself was named after former British Home Secretary Thomas Townshend, 1st Viscount Sydney. The division was proclaimed at the redistribution of 21 November 1968, replacing the old Division of Dalley, Division of East Sydney and Division of West Sydney, and was first contested at the 1969 election.
The division is located around the City of Sydney and includes many inner suburbs such as Alexandria, Beaconsfield, Broadway, Chippendale, Darlington, Erskineville, Forest Lodge, Glebe, Haymarket, Millers Point, Pyrmont, Redfern, Rosebery, The Rocks, Ultimo, Waterloo, Zetland and parts of Annandale, Camperdown and Newtown in the Inner West, as well as Surry Hills, Darlinghurst, Potts Point, Woolloomooloo and Kings Cross in the Eastern Suburbs. Lord Howe Island, within the Tasman Sea and some 400 kilometres (250 mi) north-east of the Sydney central business district, is located within the division; as are the harbour islands from Spectacle Island to the Sydney Heads, and all the waters of Port Jackson, except for Middle Harbour and North Harbour.The current Member for the Division of Sydney, since the 1998 federal election, is Tanya Plibersek, a member of the Australian Labor Party and the current Deputy Leader of the Opposition.


Random Images

Contact details

Division of Sydney

Address: 62 Cope St, Redfern NSW 2016, Australia