Province of Reggio Emilia

in undefined, Italy

Category: Attraction

5 views 0 shares 0 comments

Bookmarkset bookmark!
Created/changed by: System

Address details

Via Monte Croce, 3, 42030 Vezzano sul Crostolo RE, Italy
Print route »


N44° 34' 0.12" E10° 33' 0"   (44.5667, 10.55)
Start navigation »

Phone & WWW

Business hours


The Province of Reggio Emilia (Italian: Provincia di Reggio nell'Emilia) is one of the nine provinces of the Italian Region of Emilia-Romagna. The capital city, which is the most densely populated comune in the Province, is Reggio Emilia.
It has an area of 2,293 square kilometres (885 sq mi) and, based on the 2010 Istituto Nazionale di Statistica (Istat) census, it has a total population of 530,343. There are 44 comuni (singular: comune) in the province. Rolo, the smallest commune in the Province by area, is the commune farthest to the East. Collagna is the commune farthest to the West. The border towns of the Province are Ligonchio, which is the smallest commune by population, to the South and Luzzara in the North. Luzzara is the second largest commune in Emilia-Romagna and has the highest number of foreign nationals in the region.
The Province is home to the historical Canossa Castle, property of the countess Matilde; it is where the famous Walk to Canossa of Henry IV occurred. Representatives of the free municipalities of Reggio, Modena, Bologna and Ferrara met in Reggio Emilia's Sala del Tricolore in 1797 to proclaim the Repubblica Cispadana, adopting the three colour green-white-red flag to represent their newly formed Republic; it was later adopted in 1848 as the national flag.


Random Images

Contact details

Province of Reggio Emilia

Address: Via Monte Croce, 3, 42030 Vezzano sul Crostolo RE, Italy