in Ajmer, India

Category: Attraction

6 views 0 shares 0 comments

Bookmarkset bookmark!
Created/changed by: System

Address details

Dargah Rd, Subhash Nagar, Ajmer, Rajasthan 305001, India
Print route »


N26° 26' 60" E74° 38' 24"   (26.45, 74.64)
Start navigation »

Phone & WWW

Business hours


Ajmer-Merwara, also known as Ajmir Province and as Ajmer-Merwara-Kekri, is a former province of British India in the historical Ajmer region. The territory was ceded to the British by Daulat Rao Sindhia by a treaty on June 25, 1818. It was under the Bengal Presidency until 1936 when it became part of the North-Western Provinces comissionat el 1842. Finally on 1 Apr 1871 it became a separate province as Ajmer-Merwara-Kekri. 15 Aug 1947 it was made part of independent India.
The province consisted of the districts of Ajmer and Merwara, which were physically separated from the rest of British India forming an enclave amidst the many princely states of Rajputana. Unlike these states, which were ruled by local nobles who acknowledged British suzerainty, Ajmer-Merwara was administered directly by the British.
In 1842 the two districts were under a single commissioner, then they were separated in 1856 and were administered by the East India Company. Finally, after 1858, by a chief commissioner who was subordinate to the Governor-General of India's agent for the Rajputana Agency.


Random Images

Contact details


Address: Dargah Rd, Subhash Nagar, Ajmer, Rajasthan 305001, India